Monday, September 30, 2013

Munich: Oktoberfest and Dachau!

Oktoberfest!!

Day 1: We left Firenze late Thursday night en route to Munich, Germany. We drove through the night and arrived bright and early at 6:45AM. We threw our stuff in the luggage room of the hostel (my first hostel experience!) and headed directly to Oktoberfest! When we arrived at the giant carnival, we chose the Hackerbrucke tent, a very German tent. But first let me describe the setting. Munich is significantly colder than Florence. And the language is so different than anything I've seen before, it was nearly impossible to figure anything out. Luckily most people in Germany speak at least a little bit of English. Oktoberfest is like the biggest carnival you have ever been to. Food stands, rides, and of course, the tents which are much more than tents...more like buildings. We waited in line at hacker for over an hour, and when they finally opened the door we ran in and got a table. When they started coming around with the beers, I was amazed at how huge these things were. Women in the traditional dresses were carrying at least 8 of them (and these women are JACKED). We sat with a bunch of Germans and started to make friends while we drank beer, which I'm not going to lie, I didn't love. I'm not really a beer person. The Italian wine is much more my speed...
For dinner this first night, we went to a biergarten where we ate the BEST chicken. So much chicken this weekend. 



Day 2: We woke up by 6:30 and were at Oktoberfest in line by 7:45. Today we decided to go to Hofbrauhaus tent, a notoriously American tent. The line was significantly longer, but we managed to get near the front after being yelled at by a massive security guard to go "theees way or theeeeesss way NOW." Note to self: German security guards are terrifying. 
By 9:00AM, the doors were open and I didn't even have a chance to walk the crowd was so pushy. I just got carried along. We somehow managed to get a table and they almost immediately started serving the liters of beer. This tent was significantly more rowdy and almost all study abroad students. The people sitting next to us were from Summit, New Jersey. I have never seen so many drunk people all at once, most standing on the long picnic style benches, singing a combination of German and American songs. The band rotated between some classic Americans, like Sweet Caroline, and some German chants. Preppy boys dressed in lederhos'n and girls in their drindls all sang while drinking beers that require two hands. It was like the biggest day party ever. WOW. 
Today I was definitely outside of my comfort zone a bit. SO much fun, but so many people. This was a crowd unlike any other, and if you ended up outside somehow, there was a line to get in line to get back in, no matter how many stamps you had on your hand. Security guards carted too-drunk or too-obnoxious people out, while people stood on tables to chug their liters of beer. If you didn't finish, you'd be booed and have things thrown at you. Oktoberfest is NOT real life. But it was such an incredible experience. People were so very happy. Walking down the street, police vans would have German music playing over their loudspeakers and people in full garb would be dancing in front of them. It was wonderful. 






Day 3: On my third and final day in Germany, we took a trip to the Dachau Concentration camp memorial site. I don't think anything could have been more of a contrast to the past two days, but I am so glad I went. We started the trip with a look inside the museum, which detailed how the camp came to be and how it progressed, along with information about the prisoners and leaders of the camp. We watched a movie about the camp, and then moved outside to wander around the camp. We decided to go into the barracks where the prisoners slept, as well as the maintenance buildings and role-call grounds. The memorial site is incredible in the sense that you are able to just walk around on your own, without having anyone lead you. You can explore the grounds completely. But it is such a sombering experience. To see pictures of bodies piled up on the exact ground where you're standing is unbelievable. It is something I will never forget. 

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Finding the Ponte Vecchio

This weekend I decided to remain in Florence to do some more exploring of the city. I took a look at my planner and realized I have very few weekends here! Three months goes fast when you're trying to see all of Italy and a few extra countries here and there. So, it wasn't a terribly eventful weekend, but it was a wonderful one nonetheless.

On Friday I spent the day wandering around and essentially "getting lost" in Italy. There's something to be said for being alone and not having any agenda. I walked past the Duomo, and meandered down the side streets popping in and out of stores. Naturally, it was pretty packed since it is the center of Florence on a weekend, so I tried to avoid the main streets. I eventually came upon the river, so I walked along it and suddenly there were lots of people again. As I pushed my way through, I looked up to see that I was walking up to the Ponte Vecchio. So I sucked it up, and merged into the crowd and strolled across the Ponte Vecchio for the first time. I hadn't been planning on ending up there, or even getting over the river, but there I was. I looked at the bunches of jewelry shops along the day and when I reached the middle of the bridge, I stopped and looked out over the water. The sky was perfectly blue, not a cloud in the sky, and the brightly colored buildings on either side of the Arno were reflected perfectly in the water. It's getting lost in Italy and finding the Ponte Vecchio that makes living here so incredible. On the way back to my apartment, I was pretty thrilled and decided the only thing that could make it better was nutella gelato. So good.

And on that note, I probably eat far more nutella here than any person really should. There's something about eating it in Italy that just makes it taste better, as crazy as that sounds.

Anyway, that's all for now! XOXO

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Mercato Sant'Ambrogio

Ciao! 

Every Wednesday my Italian class is dedicated to learning about Italian culture. I don't think anything can compare to today's lesson. We met in front of the Basilica of Santa Croce, a beautiful place to begin with. We then took a walk to the mercato Sant'Ambrogio. I know we have farmer's markets in the US, but really, nothing can compare to this place. There are two major markets in Firenze, but one is significantly more tourist-y, so our teacher took us to the more authentic one. It was incredible. We had lunch there, where she ordered us fried polenta, bread with olive oil, small pieces of pizza, and some other forms of carbohydrates (Italians eat a ridiculous amount of carbs.) We then walked around the market. There isn't just food at this market, there is clothing, jewelry, and just about anything else you could want. But I'll focus on the good because I'm in Italy and the food is the best part. 

Imagine a warehouse type structure completely filled with Italian meats, cheeses, and fresh pastas. Outside, there are baskets and baskets of every fruit and vegetable you can imagine, all looking so perfect. Seriously, if I lived and cooked in Italy that is where I would shop. No wonder everything tastes so good. This is where it comes from. I won't lie, the meats were somewhat freaky. Cow stomach is big here, so there were lots of those inside, and they happen to eat whole pigs here, so there were legitimate skinned whole pigs hanging... which is kind of disturbing. Lots of death in that place. But the cheeses were all huge blocks and you could ask for any type and they slice off a piece of it. And fresh pasta was in baskets, it looked incredible. This market is literally the italian food lovers dream. Dad- you would have been in heaven here. It was so unbelievable. 

Anyway, just wanted to give you a little look into the Italian mercato and definitely the reason why all of the food I eat here is so amazing. 

Ciao! 

Ravenna and Assisi

Basilica of San Francesco d'Assisi
This past weekend I had the opportunity to do day trips with my school to Assisi and Ravenna. For my art history class, we spend a lot of time outside of the classroom, physically looking at the works of art, which is wonderful. So these were two of the trips that we had to take. On Friday (since we don't have classes on Fridays), I boarded a bus at 8AM for the little town of Assisi. When we arrived, we had to walk up a small hill, where we came across the amazing Basilica of San Francesco d'Assisi. Before going in, we had the opportunity to look at the magnificent view. Since Assisi sits at the top of a hill, the view was absolutely spectacular (pictures to come, not that they can do it justice.) Afterwards, we went inside the church. What's so wonderful about traveling to these places with a class is that there is someone to explain what you're actually looking at. We went to Assisi to look at the "frescas" or large wall paintings. This church dedicated to a saint has some of the most beautiful frescas in the world. Its incredible to step inside and know that this church (completed in 1253), is older than the country I live in. I'm Catholic, so there was an extra special sense of belonging for me in that church. It was exactly what I needed this weekend. And as it turns out, he was known for his kindness towards animals, particularly birds. If you know me well, you understand why this made me smile.



Afterwards, we had time to walk around the town. The town of Assis is incredible. There is no way to describe it except that it's like stepping back into history. The narrow cobblestone roads overlook gorgeous landscapes and wind up this hill. It's pretty much a one street town. It's as though you're in a storybook, and was exactly what I picture when I picture Italy.







The next morning I got on the bus to visit Ravenna, a completely different town. Ravenna is apparently a place where many Italians like to visit for vacation, because there is lots of fashionable shopping and it's close to the beach. But there are also many churches, where we went to see the mosaics that Ravenna is famous for. They were absolutely breathtaking. My favorite was probably the Basilica of San Vitale, because it was almost empty when we went and just looking around you can see each tiny piece of glass that goes into making this place so incredible. Each piece is so perfectly cut and thought out, and you can literally feel the passion that went into telling these stories. Among some other places I visited were Dante's tomb and the Mausoleum of Galla Piacidia.
Dante's Tomb

In Ravenna I also ate the most amazing piadina (flatbread with your toppings folded into it). The amount of prosciutto and mozzarella I am eating here is ridiculous. There is no way I am going to be able to go back to the school sandwich shop. Packaged American cheese will never be OK again.


Also, sorry this is so long but I absolutely must describe the amazing dinner my host mama made us last night. Risotta with porcini mushrooms. Both things I love, but this woman has the ability to make it taste even better that I thought possible. When it's not so hot (no air conditioning in a tiny kitchen on 80 degree days with the oven on= bad) I'll be trying to take cooking lessons from her.

Con affetto! <3 

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Week 2 in Florence

This has been my second week abroad in Florence! Classes have started and I'm finally settling into the swing of things 4200 miles away from home.

When I thought of Italy before coming here, I knew the food would be amazing and I would be drinking wine. I knew people would be more laid back about things like time and schedules. I knew I had to watch out for gypsies (they look like Esmerelda, no joke) and pick pocketers. I knew it wouldn't be exactly like the United States, but it's not like I was heading to a third world country or somewhere I needed tons of vaccinations and a mosquito net for. I mean, it's Italy. So I wasn't prepared for some of the culture shock that hit me when I got here:

There are mosquitoes. lots of them. And they do not sell Calamine lotion the same way we do in the States. Or at least I haven't found it yet. Also, in the United States you just run to the grocery store and there is at least a full aisle of hair care products. Here, you go to the grocery store and there are about 1/6 of that. It probably doesn't help that I cannot understand what they claim they do. Despite my studying of Italian, I wasn't prepared for the vocabulary of hair products in Italy. It's just something they don't teach in Italian classes at Gettysburg. You also can't buy medicine at a supermarket. No tylenol. No tums. No nothing. You go to the pharmacy for that. You cannot buy hair care products at the pharmacy either, apparently, unless you're "biondi" (blonde) according to the woman working at the pharmacy across the street from me. You also can't just run to Target if you decide you need a pillow or some sheets for the hostel you'll be visiting. This requires a trip to a special, family-owned store. But that's kind of the charm of living in Italy. It takes some getting used to, and there is some definite culture shock, at least for me, but it's such a simpler, more beautiful way of life.

Anyway, that's just some of what I've learned about living here in Italy. Wow, I'm actually living in Italy.

An Italian shop-owner slicing fresh prosciutto by hand
Yesterday, for my Mediterranean Food and Culture class we took a walking tour of some of my professor's favorite places to eat. Most of them are hole in the wall places that you would NEVER think to go into, but once inside you can see them cutting the meat fresh and pouring wine from the barrel. I am so excited to start trying these places. The smell alone is enough to make anyone want to order everything they have to offer (but there aren't menus, so you have to kind of wing it.) He had intentions for us to try cow stomach, apparently a very typical cuisine in Florence, but the place where we were supposed to go was closed by the time we got there. Oh, darn. So we settled for gelato instead. I had pesca and lampone (peach and raspberry) and it was probably the highlight of my day. Gelato here is just so good..along with everything else. Thank God for the amount of walking we've been doing.

My Raspberry and Peach Gelato!
Today, for my Antiquity to Michelangelo class (an art history course) we started in the Piazza Signoria, where we saw a replicate of the David by Michelangelo, along with multiple other famous statues. It's amazing how I can walk by them so many times without knowing the stories behind them. All of a sudden, you hear the tales of how they were built and what the inspiration for them was and they practically come to life. Whether it's David and the story of Goliath or Perseus holding Medusa's head and how he killed her, its literally seeing history before your eyes. I have so much more appreciation for this art as I begin to understand the literal sweat, blood and tears that went into creating them.
My class then moved on into the Duomo, where we looked at mosaics, frescas, and tempra works of art. Being inside of the Duomo is absolutely amazing. It is so awe-inspiring and huge. I didn't know where to look first. There is art of every kind and so many people all coming to see this cathedral of Florence. It ceases to amaze me how art and history can bring people from all over the world together into one city, one space.

Inside the Duomo



Along the Arno River
I finished the day with a long walk. I decided I wanted to explore the city on my own a bit, so I did just that and I made it all the way over the Arno (about a thirty minute walk one way.) It was absolutely 100% worth it. The view was spectacular. Everywhere I walk in Florence I feel like I am stepping into a storybook. With the cobblestone streets, the colored homes, and not a single "super-store," it truly is someplace so special. I've decided that I'm going to try to spend at least a half hour every day just "getting lost" alone in Florence and seeing the different neighborhoods. Wish me luck! Ciao.

Monday, September 9, 2013

The Trip

It has been exactly one week since I left New Jersey for Florence! After a layover in Munich, a lesson in European hand towel dispensers, a beautiful view of the Alps via plane, and some lost (but now found!) luggage, I am finally in Florence and settled with my wonderful host mom.

The weather here in beautiful Firenze is not what I was expecting at all. It is HOT. All the time. My host mom, Annamaria, repeatedly wipes her forehead saying "caldo, caldo." Unlike the United States, here in Italy use of air conditioning is very rare. In fact its almost nonexistent. There is no escape from the constant heat. But it's beautiful, not muggy. The sky has been so blue and cloudless, and their are palm trees next to pine trees.

My host mom lives in an apartment five minutes from my school and ten-fifteen minutes from the duomo. It's like a dream to just be able to wander over to one of the most magnificent buildings in the world. We go drink wine and have coffee casually around the Duomo. So. Cool. Annamaria has two daughters, Duccia and Rafaella, both fully grown and married and each with a child, Leonardo and Olympia. Rafaella speaks extremely good English, so when she comes to visit her mom it's great to have someone to translate for us. Annamaria speaks only a couple words of English, and despite my couple years of Italian classes, its still difficult to communicate sometimes. We do our best. Every day she cooks the most incredible food. I cannot express how delicious everything here in Italy is. Every meal is so fresh. Even the simple things just taste better. Maybe it's because I'm looking at such a beautiful city while I eat them. We eat prosciutto and melon, meat, chicken, fish, vegetables, fruit, and ALWAYS pasta. The way they eat here in Italy is just so different. We start every meal with pasta, where Annamaria threatens to have us eat it for breakfast if we do not finish it (I'm pretty sure she's kidding.) We then eat meat and some side and whatever else she cooks up. Anyway, Annamaria is hilarious. She is probably about 75 years old and is so sassy, I love it. When describing girls going out she hikes her nightgown up her legs and puts her sleeves off her shoulders. Last night during dinner there was a mosquito and she whipped out an electric tennis racquet (read: TAZER). "Ciao, ciao mosquito" she said. My sweet, Italian host mom clad in her nightgown tazed a mosquito during dinner. It was meant to be.

Yesterday Annamaria and Duccia brought us to the Piazza Michelangelo, where you can overlook the entire city of Florence. It is so incredibly beautiful. I'll post some pictures soon. We could see the Duomo, the Ponte Vecchio, and Santa Croce. She then drove us around the city and up the hills that surround it to give us an idea of where we are in comparison to everything. It was wonderful. Everything is so special and gorgeous.

I'll try to be more consistent with my posting here now that I'm settling in! It's been a crazy week in Florence, but Im happy to be here!