Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Vino in Chianti

On Friday, I had the opportunity to go on a class trip (yes, I get credit for this stuff) to the Tuscan countryside of Chianti to visit a wine and olive oil estate. Wow. 

When we first got out of Florence and into the countryside, the bus driver stopped our bus (as per the request of my insane German professor) and had us all get out to just look at the landscape. It was stunning. While there, the son of the owners of the estate we were visiting came and met us and explained what the different valleys and rows that we were looking at are. We looked over while hearing about which areas were for olives, which were for wine, and why flowers were planted where they were. We even watched some of the workers using the vibrating rakes to get the olives off of the trees (it's olive oil season here in Italy and the new oil is amazing!) We then tried the raw olives...ew. Never have I tasted something so bitter. It is nearly impossible to believe that something so gross tasting can be transformed into something so delicious! 

After examining the land from afar, we got back on the bus to head to the villa/estate. Two big black labs greeted us at the doors and followed us around while the mother and son of the estate showed us around the property. The villa was absolutely amazing. Attached to the place where these people live, are the basements and machines where they also make the wine and olive oil. I can't imagine the life they live. At one point when the mother was leading us to the bathroom, she stopped at a Chapel IN THE HOUSE and led us in, while telling us that this was "a special place to her because it is where she was married." Like, wow. You can just feel the history and lineage and wealth of this home, but also the passion the family has for what they do. The property surrounding the home was covered in flowers and beautiful trees and other gardens with tomatoes and pumpkins (the first pumpkins I've seen this fall!) and lemons and limes. It was so different from Amalfi or Cinque Terre, but so beautiful at the same time. Italy never ceases to amaze me with it's diversity and beauty everywhere I go. 

After exploring for a couple hours ("Imagine yourself as a grape," my crazy professor yells out as we walk through the cellar exploring the barrels and machinery and presses), they invited us to a tasting of their wines and the new olive oil. There was a layout of the wines they have created from the past 5 years (we tried them all!), breads, antipasti, and of course the new olive oil. It was all amazing, but I just have to explain trying this new olive oil. First, we each took a piece of the traditional tuscan unsalted bread. Then we took full cloves of garlic and rubbed them along the edges of the bread using the crust to break it apart. After that, we poured some olive oil around the bread until it was covering it, and then we took pinches of salt from a bowl and spread it around the piece. That first bite was so amazing. The new oil is a little spicy, but there is such a fresh and unique taste to it and it was so delicious. Along with a glass of delicious wine, my favorite was the 2005, we snacked and talked for another couple hours while enjoying the beautiful landscape beyond us. 

Wow.

Monday, November 11, 2013

Fall Break with mia mama e mio papa!: Amalfi Coast

After our couple days in Florence, we got on a train and headed to the Amalfi Coast! Of course it wasn't as easy as just getting on a train from point A to point B. It was Florence to Rome, Rome to Naples, Naples to Salerno, and then a boat taxi to Amalfi (we opted for the boat taxi because the roads are literally terrifying along the coast!) And the food along the way was the worst I have had in Italy...
Not to mention my dad was dragging along a suitcase whose wheels had given out on the Florence cobblestones and he had done a makeshift repair job on them..

But once we finally were on the boat to Amalfi...WOW is all I can say. The coast is so breathtaking, and the weather was absolutely perfect (we bought flip flops and sundresses and bathing suits when we finally got there!) We were so enamored by it that we ended up cancelling the trips we had planned to Naples and Rome for after Amalfi and just staying in Amalfi. We were that amazed by it.

From the colorful buildings to the side alleys that are neither inside nor out (and I really don't know how to describe them other than old, beautiful, outdoor hallways), to the friendly and welcoming people, we were absolutely in love. And the food was amazing. The restaurants were so small and the home cooking was just absolutely amazing.

One day, we took a private boat tour with only 4 other people along the coast all the way to Capri. We saw Positano, Sorrento, Capri, and the grottos. We even got to go into the Blue Grotto by way of small row boat type thing. That was possibly my favorite part of the trip. Once inside the cave, the water quite literally glows because of the way the sunlight shines under the rocks that don't reach the bottom (see this website if curious because my pictures don't do it justice! http://www.capri.com/en/s/la-grotta-azzurra). That day we also spent a couple hours in Capri, which was bellissimo! I can absolutely understand why the rich and famous spend their holidays there. It was expensive, but so beautiful. The flowers were still completely in bloom and the views after taking the ski lift type contraption were so magnificent. We loved it.










While there, we also took a bus ride up to Ravello. This was our ONLY time on a bus for this trip, and for good reason. The roads were absolutely ridiculous. The way the roads twist and turn along the cliffs is enough to make you pray for your life and simultaneously focus on not throwing up. But Ravello was so beautiful. Again, the weather was absolutely perfect so I'm sure that had a lot to do with it. But really, the coast is the most beautiful place I have ever been and I highly recommend that everyone try to go at least once in their life. I already want to go back. While we were up in Ravello (it's up in the mountain, not on the water), we went into the Villa Rudolfo, and wow. Words won't do it justice, so I'll post pictures to try to explain how great it was. The views were magnificent, and the flowers and layout and old buildings were so much fun to explore. Plus I was with my parents, which already had me on cloud 9.

It was so amazing to have them here in Italy with me. I knew that I would miss them, but you don't realize how much until you actually get abroad and only have a few hours each day where you can try to fit in some time to talk because of the time differences and school and work. And then of course since my mom is probably my best friend in the world, it's of course hard to be without her for that long. But that being said, I don't know if I have ever been happier to see them. When they got off that train from Bologna, I could not stop smiling. This is by far the longest I had gone without seeing them, and it was just so wonderful having them here. I love Italy, but I wish I could just have the whole crew here with me enjoying this beautiful country. 

Fall Break with mia mama e mio papa!: Florence

From October 24-November 1, my parents came to visit! We spent the first couple days in Florence, which was absolutely incredible. It was such a special experience to be able to show my parents the city where I have been living, and essentially my second home (or third after Gettysburg...!) The first night they came and met my mom which was absolutely a blast. Since she speaks no English, and they speak no Italian, it was absolutely hilarious. But we all managed to communicate somehow :)
Their first taste of Gelato!
Our first day, we went to the Boboli gardens and Pitti Palace in Florence. It was so beautiful. I had heard that it was a great place to go and that I would be amazed...but really, it's fabulous. To anyone planning on going to Florence, I highly recommend it!
It was pretty funny, because my parents came clad all in sweaters, and it turned out to be the hottest couple days in a month when they were here. We had to go shopping for tank tops before we explored Boboli...it was THAT hot. Like 76 degrees in October/November...
At one point, my dad and I ran up a huge hill, full speed ahead. It was such a special moment that I don't think I will ever forget. Mama decided against the run, but I think she was just as amused as we were. The view from the top of Boboli was such a special perspective.

While they were in Florence, we also went to the Duomo, went into Santa Reparata (old church under the Duomo), went to the Baptistery (my first time), and climbed the Giotto Tower! I wasn't sure we were all going to make it up to the top...there were a couple struggling points, but we did it! And just the same as last time I climbed it, it was absolutely worth it. I also took them to Piazza Vecchia, the carousel, the leather markets (of course) and the market. I think the market might have been one of their favorite parts. I remember the first I went and how shocked I was at all the fresh food and the women making pasta right there in front of you...I think they were just as shocked as I was the first time. You just can't find that type of place in the U.S. We had sandwiches there, and they were absolutely wonderful....as is most of the food here! :) So that was the first three days of our trip!

Walking over the Ponte Vecchio!






Mom at the Market!

The crew outside the Duomo

Papa Pags and me on our way up the Giotto Tower!

The Crew struggling as we go up the stairs of the tower!

Mommy and me overlooking the Arno!



Thursday, November 7, 2013

London!

I haven't posted in a while, and have done a lot so I'll make a few quick posts about my past couple weeks!

Three weekends ago, I went to London to visit my friends Christian and Emily (the same ones that came to Cinque Terre with me!) While I don't think I would want to study abroad there for a whole semester (it seemed very similar to the US to me!), I had so much fun!

First of all, it was fantastic to be in a completely English speaking country for a few days. I forgot about that a bunch and attempted to speak Italian to people who had NO idea what I was talking about. That being said, English was GOOD! And they also have street signs in London...something I have missed dearly here in good ole Italy. AND they have Starbucks. Now, I'm not usually a Starbucks person. But I have not had a "to go" coffee in a cup with a lid in almost two months...so the venti Starbucks cup in my hand was a wonderful feeling. Honestly, besides people there are very few things I miss about the US....the coffee to go is one of those things. Unfortunately in London, you sacrifice good food for the to-go coffee. The food in London just sucks. My host mom warned me before hand, but I couldn't imagine how it could actually be that bad. I'll put it to you this way: I actually saw a pizza made with CHEDDAR CHEESE. For someone studying in Italy, this is practically sacrilege...

Here's a rundown of what I saw/did on my weekend in London!:
-Big Ben! SO COOL.
-Parliament
-Buckingham Palace
-Piccadilly Circus
-Trafalgar Square
-City Hall
-Ate fish and chips...not good.
-Walked the Tower Bridge
-Saw the London Tower
-Walked the London Bridge
-Walked Millenium Bridge
-St. Paul's Cathedral
-Saw the London Eye
-Walked through St. James Park
-drank espresso maritinis overlooking Covent Garden
-Went to a cider bar. I LOVE CIDER!
-Went to Ministry of Sound club
....and of course some other stuff through in here, but those were the highlights!

........and of course it rained. It is London after all.
So glad I got to go, though. It was a fantastic weekend!